Competitive dancing

If you’ve got bigger dreams of becoming a competitive dancer, Footwork can help you achieve that too.

A quick guide to the comp dance scene

There is a well-established competitive dance scene in New Zealand with competitions running in the weekends during the months of April to November. The highlight each year is the New Zealand Open Dancesport Championships, generally held over the Labour Day long weekend in October.

To dance competitively, you must register with the New Zealand Recreational Dance Inc (NZRDI) and/or New Zealand Ballroom Dance Council (NZBDC). There are six age groups.

  • Juvenile: up to and including 12 years of age
  • Junior: 13 years of age up to and including 15 years of age
  • Adult: 16 years of age and over
  • Youth: 16 years of age up to and including 20 years of age
  • Masters 1: 35 years of age and over
  • Masters 2: 50 years of age and over.

Couples that have never competed before, start dancing in C Grade. As they win competitions they move up the grades. Competitors are restricted to dancing the dances allowed for their grade.

Styles and dances

Ballroom (also known as Standard)

  • Waltz
  • Tango
  • Foxtrot
  • Quickstep
  • Viennese Waltz

Latin American

  • Cha Cha Cha
  • Samba
  • Rumba
  • Jive
  • Paso Doble

New Vogue

  • Waltz rhythm: Parma Waltz, Lucille Waltz, Twilight Waltz, Tracey Leigh Waltz, Swing Waltz
  • Foxtrot rhythm: Barclay Blues, Carousel, Charmaine, Excelsior Schotissche, Merrilyn
  • Tango rhythm: Tangoette, La Bomba, Tango Terrific
  • March rhythm: Gypsy Tap, Evening 3 Step